Share This Post
How to Restore a Page on WordPress
Reading Time: 2 minutes
Who hasn’t deleted something accidentally (or even on purpose, only to change your mind afterward) from their computer or website? Well friend, when it comes to your WordPress website, I have good news for you!
WordPress automatically saves everything you’ve sent to the trash for 30 days, so you can easily recover recently deleted content. This WordPress Wednesday post explains how below.
- Sign into your WordPress account.
- Navigate to “All Pages” by selecting “Posts>All Pages” on the left-hand menu. This brings up a list of pages, which can be filtered by published, drafts, trash, etc.
- Click on the “Trash” hyperlink, which will appear as a menu option right under the “Pages” heading on the top left. This will bring up the list of pages which are sitting in your trash.
- Hover of the name of the page you wish to recover. When you do this, a submenu of hyperlinks will appear. Here, you have the option to “Restore” or “Delete Permanently.”
- Click “Restore.” (In case the next step wasn’t painfully obvious!) Once you make that selection, the page will disappear from the list, as you are still on the filtered page for “Trash” pages.
- NOTE: As the option suggests, clicking “Delete Permanently,” is, in fact, a permanent action. So be careful not to accidentally pick that option!
- Select “All” at the top of the page, again from the menu options right under the “Pages” heading on the top left. Your previously trashed page should now appear on the list with its new status.
- Take the next step! Now that you’ve recovered the page, you can do what you need to do with it, such as publishing it if you’d trashed it while it was still a draft!
On a final note, if you need to recover a trashed post from your WordPress blog page, the same steps apply from the “All Posts” menu option!
See how easy it is to recover your work? Just keep in mind that anything in the WordPress trash is automatically deleted after it’s been there for 30 days.